Manage users, rights, and groups

The role of the Administrator

As an administrator of the account, you are setting up users and determining the rules that apply to them. Examples of rules may be:

  • If the user has a reserved part of the storage space and if so, how large this should be
  • Which users should see which folders on Common Files
  • Number of versions to be saved
  • If “Paper Trash” is to be used on the account 
  • Restrict users from typing in the root of Common Files 

The administrator is responsible for payment of the service, the only person who can upgrade the account, both in terms of number of users and how much the total storage space should be (all charges will be on the same invoice).

The administrator also has the ability to access the contents of all users’ accounts through the “Login As” feature 

Manage users

Add User:
  • Log in to your account and click the user icon at the top of the page to the right
  • Click Account Settings.
  • Click User
  • Click “Create New User”
  • Enter the name and email address of the person to be invited to share the account.
  • Reserve area
    Set the reserved area if desired, select “0 GB” to split the area of all users.
  • Advanced settings
    Here you can specify whether the user should have permission to create files or folders directly in the root under Common Files.
  • Click “Save”

The person you just added will now receive an email with an invitation to your account. The mail also contains a link to complete the registration. When registering, the user only has to enter a username, password and password.

When you click “Save” in the steps above, a list of the account’s users appears, and you can see, for example, the status of those you’ve invited, for example, if they have completed their registration.

Change a user
  • Log in to your account and click the user icon at the top of the page to the right
  • Click Account Settings.
  • Click User
  • Click on the first name of the user you want to change (Alternatively select the checkbox in front of the name and then select “Modify” from the “Manage” menu)
  • You can now make your changes.
  • Select “Save” when you are done with the changes.

Manage Groups

Groups may be helpful if you have a group of users who will have access to a particular folder. Instead of giving each user access to a folder, you can provide a group with permissions for a folder. To the group you can then add and remove users altogether as the need arises. For example, a group could include consultants, when a consultant quit or start, you can add the user to the consultant directory and then be sure that it has the same rights as other users in the group.

Create group
  • Log in to your account and click the user icon at the top of the page to the right
  • Click Account Settings.
  • Click Groups
  • Click groups to the left
  • Select “Create new group”
  • Enter the group name and exit by saving


Add Group Users:
  • Log in to your account and click the user icon at the top of the page to the right
  • Click Account Settings.
  • Click User
  • Select which users in the list you want to add to a group
  • Click “Add to Group” in the menu bar above
  • Select which group the users should be included in (you can also create a new group with the selected users in this mode)
  • A confirmation is shown that the selected users are added to the group


Change permissions for a folder
  • Select a folder under common files by ticking it
  • Click the More Options button (three dots)
  • Click Permission (umbrella)
  • You can now edit the permissions in the box that appears. Press save when you feel ready.

There are 4 levels of permissions:
No privileges – Users who do not have permission for a folder do not see this at all, not on the web, via Storegate software, or in apps.
     Read – Users can view folder and open and download its content but cannot edit
Read / Write – Users can view, read, modify, delete, copy or move folders and its contents.
Read / Write / Sync – Same permissions as “Read / Write” plus the right to sync the folder to their computer via Storegate Sync. (This is not available on all accounts)

Privileges are only available for folders under Common files and only in root (so called top level, ie not on underlying folders). When you create a new folder on the web, you can simultaneously add permissions to the folder. If a folder is stored from your local computer to Storegate or if a folder is copied or moved from My Files to Common Files, “No permission” is set as default. This is done for security reasons so that no one but you can see the folder before the permissions have been changed. To make it available to others in the group, do the permission changes when you are logged in to the web interface.


Recycle bin

Anything that is deleted from your and other users accounts will end up in the Recycle bin and can be recovered by entering the Recycle bin. Select the wanted files and or folders and selecting “Restore” from the “Manage” menu.

Note that anything that is deleted from Common Files will end up in the administrator’s trash can and can only be recovered from this account. If other users delete files / folders from their own storage sites (My files), they will end up in their own own bin.

Trash is active by default on all accounts, if you choose to disable it, folders and files will be deleted from all accounts that will be permanently deleted. An inactivation also means that everything already in all users recycle bins is permanently deleted.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles